When parenting isn’t perfect


Well isn’t this just fitting haha. Tripp got a hold of my book and tore the cover right off! This book had some really good insights. Growing up I think I definitely strived to be perfect. It was the goal for sure, to get all A’s, never get in trouble, make the “right” choices. I think for me personally it didn’t really bug me, I knew my parents understood I wasn’t perfect and were just trying to push me to be better knowing full well I wouldn’t always get it right. 

I can also see how that style wouldn’t work. If you felt like u have to be perfect then you might just always feel like you weren’t enough. I think this book hilights that. It teaches more to accept your child’s best. That may mean B’s in school instead of an A. Learning to encourage your children to do their best and not be perfect. Sometimes your child will throw those embarrassing fits in the middle of the store (this has def happened to me already) because they aren’t perfect and learning to know life isn’t perfect. 

In the same way there is sooo much pressure to be the perfect mom and dad. I think realizing you’re gonna mess up and learning to just do your best and let the rest go to God is the only way to get through those tough times when you do make a mistake. Also learning to forgive quickly when your spouse does too. You are both human and perfection is gonna lead to a very disappointing outcome. 

I like another thing they said too. Family should make you think of : love, safety, encouragement, affirmation and peace. 

I think those words are so important in family, I think it’s so important to have consistency. They know the boundaries but also know when you cross them you never lose love. It’s impossible to not be good enough in this house. 

From the back cover: 

Perfection is the enemy of parenting. It’s admirable for parents to be the very best moms and dads they can be for their children. But sometimes in doing so, they leave grace behind– both for themselves and their children. We can become pharisaical parents. But God doesn’t want us, and our kids don’t need us, to be perfect. As parents, we’re called to simply do our best. And when we fail— which we will— we’re called to try again tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

